Earlier this month, Google announced a change to how files are stored in your ‘My Trash’ folder. Starting October 13, 2020, any file that is put into Google Drive’s ‘My Drive’ trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days.
What does this mean to you? If you are using your trash as additional file storage, you will need to rethink how you save your files. Consider creating a new folder for long-term storage. Using the trash analogy, when you delete your files, think of it as throwing it away. You’ll have 30-days to recover it, but then Google will permanently ‘take out the trash” and delete it.
This change only affects files in the Google Drive “My Trash” folder and not other folders in your Drive File Stream.